Skip to content
Tags

Strong, Black men and that old chestnut……

June 20, 2012

What is an African writer?

Blog, I’ve missed you, but I’m back, back from an intensive period of studying.

I however made time to read, and re-read a lot.  I re-discovered Half of a Yellow Sun.  I read Cloth Girl and The Association of Foreign Spouses, and my thoughts were “these main male characters seem to talk hot air – where’s the strength?!” – I’m still angry at Robert Bannerman but that is the subject of another post.

And then, I asked myself, “what is an African writer?” and “Why do some writers from the continent of Africa do not want to be known as “African writer”?”  “What is this baggage they keep talking about and do not want to bear?”

I also traveled, albeit from the comfort of my sofa.  I went to Senegal and Ghana and Gabon, but I also went to Sudan with Leila Aboulela, to the US via Ethiopia with Dinaw Mengestu and to Zimbabwe, which has become my new favourite country ever since reading The Hairdresser of Harare.

So without further ado………

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

